9 Things You Didn’t Know About The British Grand Prix

This weekend is the British Grand Prix and CarThrottle have given us 9 things we didn’t know about the race

The next round of the 2014 Formula 1 season takes place at Silverstone circuit in Britain.

Here are 9 things you might not know about the British Grand Prix:

1. The start of it all

The Silverstone track hosted the first ever Formula 1 race back in 1950, kicking off the sports inaugural season. The 2010 British Grand Prix was the first to use the new Arena loop, which bypasses the old Abbey corner and instead heads right.

2. Success at Silverstone

Since 1950 the British Grand Prix at Silverstone has been won 16 times by a driver from Britain. They are: Peter Collins (1958), Jim Clark (1963, 1965, 1967), Jackie Stewart (1969, 1971), James Hunt (1977), John Watson (1981), Nigel Mansell (1987, 1991, 1992), Damon Hill (1994), Johnny Herbert (1995), David Coulthard (1999, 2000) and Lewis Hamilton (2008).

Here are the other 7 things you won’t know in the article on CarThrottle.com

3. Recent changes
4. Track stats
5. On the border
6. Clark and Prost top wins list
7. Ferrari out front
8. A mad man
9. A popular race

Image courtesy of carthrottle.com

Andrew Kirkley
Latest posts by Andrew Kirkley (see all)
  • 3rd July 2014

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top